Founding Board

The Founding Board of the Washington News Council was formed in August 1998. Its members were:

Patsy Collins, Director, The Bullitt Foundation; former Owner, KING-TV (now deceased)

Jim Ellis, Chairman, Washington State Convention & Trade Center; former Partner, Preston Gates & Ellis

Bill Gerberding, former President, University of Washington

Ken Hatch, President, Hatch Enterprises; former President, KIRO Broadcasting

Jeannette Hayner, former Washington State Senate Majority Leader

Dennis Heck, former President, TVW; former Washington State Legislator

Pat Herbold, former U.S. Ambassador to Singapore

Ron Judd, former top aide to Gov. Christine Gregoire

Mike Lowry, President, Enterprise Washington; former Governor of Washington state

Stan McNaughton, President & CEO, PEMCO Financial Services

Charles Royer, former Mayor of Seattle

Bill Ruckelshaus, Principal, Madrona Venture Group; former Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Founding Board members helped launch the Council by providing advice, suggestions, financial donations and moral support. They continue to help the Council.


The Selection Committee chose the Washington News Council’s members through a statewide nomination and application process in the fall of 1998. They were:

Patrick Batts, Washington State Farm Bureau, Olympia
Linda Coldiron, Association of Washington Business, Olympia
Patsy Collins, The Bullitt Foundation, Seattle
Denny Heck, TVW; former Washington State Legislator
Mack Hogans, Weyerhaeuser, Tacoma
Peter Horvitz, Eastside Journal, Bellevue
Ron Judd, King County Labor Council, Seattle
Heidi Kelly, The Gallatin Group, Seattle
Dick Larsen, The Seattle Times (ret.), Mercer Island
Barry Mitzman, KCTS-9 TV, Seattle
Assunta Ng, Northwest Asian Weekly, Seattle
Sandy Schoolfield, Washington News Council, Seattle (Chair)
Bill Stafford, Trade Development Alliance, Seattle
Liz A. Thomas, King County Trade, Commerce & International Affairs Office, Seattle