Board Members


Board of Directors

Working board responsible for development, governance, strategy

Suzie Burke (Chair) – Fremont Dock Company President
John Hamer (President) – WNC President & Executive Director
Everett Billingslea – Lynden Inc. Vice President
Anne Bremner – Trial Attorney & Legal Analyst
Shauna Causey – Vice President
Pedro Celis – Former Microsoft Distinguished Engineer
Todd Dean — Zimron CEO, Avatara Founder
Pam Guinn – Clear Channel Outdoor President
Obafemi Idowu – Founder, NobleVentures
Heidi Kelly – Competitive Strategies President
Jim Lobsenz – Attorney, Carney Badley Spellman
Joe Mentor – Mentor Law Group Founder/Principal
Sue Merry – Former National School Boards Association Co-Chair
Shannon Myers – Boeing Communications Director
Martin Neeb – KPLU General Manager Emeritus
Viet Nguyen – The Frause Group Corporate Vice President
Tom Ranken – WA Clean Technology Alliance Executive Director
Karen Seinfeld (Hearings Chair) – Former WA State Court of Appeals Judge
Blair Thompson – WA Dairy Commission Communications Director
Susan West – WA Association for Justice Communications Director

2012 Board Members

Chair: Suzie Burke, President, Fremont Dock Company
President: John Hamer, current WNC Executive Director
Vice President: Martin Neeb, General Manager Emeritus, KPLU-FM
Treasurer: Olivia Lippens, former President, Clear Channel Outdoor
Secretary: Shannon Myers, Communications Director, Commercial Aviation Services, Commercial Airplanes, The Boeing Company
Everett Billingslea, Vice President, Administration/Legal, Lynden Inc.
Pedro Celis, Distinguished Engineer, Microsoft
Scott Forslund, Vice President of Communications, Premera
Scott Vokey, General Counsel, Weyerhaeuser Real Estate Company

Board Members Emeritus

These individuals have all served on the WNC Board at some point since 1998.
They are voluntarily “on call” if needed to sit on a hearing board panel, but they may recuse themselves for any reason.

Chair: Karen Seinfeld, Former Presiding Chief Judge, Washington State Court of Appeals; Judge Pro Tem, State Supreme Court
John Andrist, General Manager, North Cascades Broadcasting Co.
Dr. Richard Baxter, Owner, Baxter Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
Steve Boyer, Senior Vice President, Hill & Knowlton
Don Brunell, President, Association of Washington Business
Larry Cali, former Reporter, KING5-TV News
Michael Campbell, Owner, Elliott Bay Events
Thomas C. Cock, Jr., CEO of Vestry, radio/TV financial journalist
George Cole, President, Media West Inc.
John Dimitriou, Owner, Dimitriou’s Jazz Alley
Tom Downey, Vice President of Communications, The Boeing Company
Carolyn Duncan, former Senior Associate, Public Affairs, The Frause Group
Charles Dunsire, former Editorial-Page Editor, Seattle P-I
Stan Emert, former Director of Community Relations, Symetra Financial
Mike Flynn, former Publisher, Puget Sound Business Journal
Sue Frause, Freelance writer/blogger, Whidbey Island
Bill Gates Sr, Co-Chairman, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
Carver Gayton, former Director, Northwest African American Museum
Ann Goos, Director of Development, AgForestry Education Foundation
Margo Gordon, former Dean, Evans School of Public Affairs, University of Washington
Susan Han, former Senior Producer, KCTS9-TV
Susan Braukus Hempstead, Local Government and Community Relations Manager, Puget Sound Energy
Patricia Herbold, former U.S. Ambassador to Singapore
Jill Hodges, Health and science freelancer writer
Peter Horvitz, Chairman, President and CEO, Horvitz Newspapers
Walter Howe, Past President, Washington Roundtable
John Irby, former Editor, Bismarck (ND) Tribune
Pat Jenkins, former Editor, Federal Way Mirror
Sandeep Kaushik, political consultant and co-founder, Publicola
John Knowlton, Journalism Professor, Green River Community College
Cyrus Krohn, Principal and Co-Founder, CrowdVerb
Erik Lacitis, Staff Writer, The Seattle Times
Jonathan Lawson, Executive Director, Reclaim the Media
Barry Mitzman, Director, Center for Strategic Communications, Seattle University
Robert T. Nelson, former Spokesman, Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
Charles G. Nordhoff, Principal, Rainier Strategies
Clayton Park, former Business Editor, King County Journal
Mike Poulson, Legislative Aide, U.S. Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers
Dr. Eddie Reed, Principal, Cleveland High School
Chuck Rehberg, former Associate Editor, The Spokesman-Review
Jennifer Roseman, former Communications Director, Sisters of Providence
Cliff Rowe, Professor of Communication, Pacific Lutheran University
David Schaefer, Director of Public Affairs, Woodland Park Zoo
Sandy Schoolfield, Community Volunteer
Randy Scott, Principal, OlyAccess
Paula Selis, Senior Counsel, Consumer Protection Division, WA State Attorney General’s Office
Stephen Silha, Filmmaker and Director, Journalism That Matters
Fawn Spady, Co-owner, Dick’s Drive-In Restaurants, Inc.
Wes Uhlman, President, Wes Uhlman & Associates
Robert Utter, former Chief Justice, Washington State Supreme Court
Ted Van Dyk, Writer and Columnist,
William Van Valkenberg, Attorney
Chris Villiers, Communications Director, Environment, Health and Safety, The Boeing Company
Roz Y. Woodhouse, President, Anchorage (AK) Urban League
Mark Wright, Anchor, KING5 TV News
Cindy Zehnder, former Chief of Staff for Gov. Christine Gregoire

See also: About the Council and our Mission Statement